Hoping to replace or rebuild motor on my 2005 K1200S - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old Jun 17th, 2019, 12:16 am Thread Starter
Noob

Hoping to replace or rebuild motor on my 2005 K1200S

Hi,

I bought a beautiful blue 2005 K1200 s back in 2011 with 11k miles on it and have since used it for getting around the city, commuting to work, driving up to wine country and Tahoe, and bombing down the I5 to visit my sister in LA.

It has been a great bike for me that I've loved. Last year I had an issue where I hadn't been using it much, and some mice made it their home and chewed on a bunch of wiring, causing one of the cylinders to miss. I brought it to the shop and they fixed it up. Then I started a new job where I have to commute 45 miles rather than walk to work as I've been doing for the last four years.

I probably should have gotten a major service done since I was now putting a lot of hard miles on the bike every day, but I got lazy and said I'd get around to it once I had a couple of pay checks in the bank.

Well, just as I drove out of the tunnel on the bay bridge towards Oakland, it threw a rod through the crank case. There was no warning ahead of time, the bike sounded and seemed to be running great. Just bang, severe vibrations, cloud of smoke from oil hitting the muffler, then finally the low oil pressure light, and just when I had rolled down and into the toll plaza parking lot, it completely shut down.

I had it towed to BMW Moto SF where I've always had it serviced, and when the checked underneath, we could see the bottom of the rod sticking out of the crank case. Unfortunately, my insurance does not cover this type of scenario.

So my options were to put it up for salvage, advertise it as a parts bike on CL, or maybe see if I could do an engine swap or rebuild.