May Ride options - N.E. South - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old Feb 26th, 2008, 7:57 pm Thread Starter
TJD
Rookie

May Ride options - N.E. South

Hey all -

I'm new to this board and thought you may be able to lend me some insight. I'm just getting into the touring aspect of riding and am planning a ride with a few friends for this coming May. I live near Boston and we are looking to ride South to find milder temps in the somewhat unpredictable weather of May. We figure we have max of 3 days to ride and prefer to stick to the twisties and scenics as opposed to the super slabs. Any of you out there have any favorite ride or route suggestions for us? We're in the begining stages of our planning.

Thanks in advance -

TJD
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old Feb 27th, 2008, 6:02 am
Addict

Anytime I have three days to ride, I hook up with a friend or three and trailor my bike to Suches GA. It's about an hour northeast of Atlanta. There are numerous motor bike campgrounds where you can stay for a few bucks in a tent or a few more bucks in a cottage and then ride out each day into the wonderful and twisty roads of the area. You can go to the dragon or the cherholla skyway from there as well as the blue ridge parkway. There are many other roads in the area that are challenging, reasonably well kept and the traffic is light but the scenery is wonderful.

Choice #2 for me would be going to Eureka Springs, AR, south of Branson, MO. I would take highway 7 south for a wonderful ride all the way to Hot Springs. An alternate would be to take the pig tail from Fayeteville south and enjoy several hours of well kept twisty road.

Caution on both trips as they are well known motor bike destinations: The dragon is extremely busy on the weekends and the local LEO's do show up to ruin the fun with some regularity. They will write meaningless tickets to keep you away so just be on your guard.