Hello All - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old Nov 18th, 2010, 5:22 pm Thread Starter
Noob

Hello All

Just wanted to say hi, I've been lurking for a long time now and my interest in the K1300S is getting more intense.
I have been riding BMW roadsters since 2001, first was a new R1150R and then a new R1200R. 36k and 30k miles respectively and loving R12 a lot, BUT.....the higher HP is luring me.
I have considered the new Ducati multistrada 1200, but not crazy about the fork front end and chain drive. Seeing the the K1300R is not available in the US this leaves me with the K1300S (not crazy about full fairings either).
Only concerns that I have is the tighter riding posture and the possible dealing with engine heat. I have test rode the K but really didn't spent enough quality time on it to make any solid comparisons to my R.
If anybody that made the jump from the R to the K can share their thoughts and feelings(good and bad) it would be greatly appreciated. Like engine heat, vibrations, mirrors, seat comfort, fuel milage, maintenance, luggage, two up riding, and general ergos. Thanks
TOM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old Nov 22nd, 2010, 5:04 pm
Enthusiast

Can only address the heat concern as coming from a K12RS, too long since I rode an R in the heat....I have ridden my K1300S for 4 hrs straight in 100+ temps. The issue was ambient heat, not anything coming from the bike. I definitely notice more heat coming off the old RS than I do the newer S. It is way smoother than any R could ever hope to be, mirrors rock steady and very functional, I get 43 mpg consistently in the twisties having fun, 32 on the track, 48+ on straight cruises. My wife prefers the seating of the S to the RS, though I would prefer a much taller screen for any extended freeway riding at speed. Hope that helps.

Jim Douglas
'00 K1200RS >135,000 mi, '09 K1300S sold @ 22,232 mi