2013 - 30th anniversary K1300S: Any one else having stalling problems? - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Jun 8th, 2014, 11:55 pm Thread Starter
Noob

2013 - 30th anniversary K1300S: Any one else having stalling problems?

I bought the K-Bike 30th Anniversary model of the K13S in April 2013 and enjoyed about 5200 miles with this awesome bike, the best of the four beemers I've owned. And then, the stalling began. I tracked all of the events (IT systems analyst by profession) and could not find a clear commonality, other than shifting: mainly downshifting from 3rd to 2nd, but one upshift from 1st to 2nd, mainly at low speeds, but had one event at a high speed downshift. The bike has hand all current service bulletins applied, and still stalls; it does not throw a code, making it very hard to figure out. In total, it has been in the shop four months out of the past 14 months. I am in communication with BMWMotorad about it, and they have been very responsive thus far.

My question is this: any other forum owners riding the K-Bike 30th anniversary model having similar stalling issues? I suspect mine might be a leamon, though stalling has been an issue, as we know from the forums.

And it is still the most amazing BMW I've ever ridden. Loved my K75 and K12RS, but this one is like a rocket with a very comfortable ride.
Thanks,
Scott
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Jun 9th, 2014, 1:52 pm
Addict

Same bike same year, bought June 2013. 7,200 k and nary a problem. AAMF, the fueling is perfect, nice mpg when I keep her to sane speeds. Took her up to Canada last month and put on 2k in a week. Performed flawlessly, so I got nothing for ya.

Marin Phil
2013 K13S-Anniv ED
'06 K12GT Blue of course!_Sold-too many problems
'05 Ducati 999-My Italian Mistress_sold and missed
2004 K12 GT-Orient Blue-the new me.-Sold
about 30 before that but too old to remember them all..