Steering wobble - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Sep 30th, 2014, 11:49 am Thread Starter
Noob

Steering wobble

I have a k13s 2011. I've had it for about 1 1/2yrs and ride it to work mostly. Over the last 1000 miles or so, the steering has "loosened" up. When I ride at 70 mph+ speeds, it feels very unstable and seems to be getting worse. When I accelerate hard like coming out of a corner, the bars will wobble a bit. I took bike to local sd bmw dealer for some servicing and they couldn't replicate the issue, though I don't know how hard they actually tried. They told me the bike doesn't have a steering bearing to loosen as that is my first thought, a loose steering bearing. I've been riding for 35+ yrs, mostly jap bikes. My last few bikes have been zx14r, vmax, zx14, zx12r. I would expect a bmw k13s to handle equally yet at highway speeds, 70-90, the bars and stability just feels too light. At 120-150, it's actually scary light. Maybe it's my older age but I've had all my bikes well over the 150mph mark and they have all been very stable at those speeds. I've adjusted tire psi higher and lower, lower seems to make it worse. Dealer check wheels for balance and trueness, but once again, I don't know how carefully they checked. Anyone have similar experiences? Also, new to this forum, ola. Any recommendation for repair shops in San diego besides dealers? I'm gonna need a new rear tire soon and dealer quoted me $350+
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Sep 30th, 2014, 2:26 pm
DOA

Things to check:
1) both wheels are true and balanced, yes, both
2) swingarm play, put the bike on a stand and see if you can move the rear wheel at all in any direction except the intended arc
3) steering damper (any oil around it means replacement)
4) change your suspension dampening settings

Post if any of this helps or hurts.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Nov 3rd, 2014, 1:59 pm
Noob