2008 K1200S purchase - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old Apr 10th, 2016, 11:14 pm Thread Starter
Noob

2008 K1200S purchase

I recently purchased a 2008 K1200S, which is my first BMW motorcycle. I have been riding for 40 years on lots of other bike makes and models but have always wanted a K bike. Love the ride after just a few weeks of ownership but came off a sport touring bike with a more upright riding position. SO, a couple questions - do you recommend Heli bars as these look to be a good option? I am also thinking I would like to replace the stock can with a performance slip-on. I had a Two Bros on my Triumph and am thinking this would also be a good choice for my K bike. By the way, I found this 2008 with less than 6,000 km so I am excited about future riding. I am new to this site and thanks for your comments.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old Apr 12th, 2016, 5:51 pm

Congrats on your first BMW! I have a '06 I bought used and came with a Two Bros' exhaust installed. It was too friggin' loud though so I switched to a Leo Vince and love it. Perhaps others here can chime in with suggestions for bar risers.

Regards,
Randy
'02 RT nacht black
'05 Ducati ST3 black
'06 K12S bumble bee
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old Apr 12th, 2016, 7:01 pm
Noob

Congrats on bike.I have a Remus exhaust on my 06 and its a little loud but nothing earth shattering.
Heli bars would be great but new cables probably have to be installed to make up the length.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old Jun 4th, 2016, 10:36 pm
Noob

Welcome Bobby, a little late to post, sorry for that--but if you're still checking the thread, I'd recommend just living with it.