K12S Questions from potential buyer... - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old May 10th, 2006, 11:23 am Thread Starter

K12S Questions from potential buyer...

So, as mentioned before, I recently sold a 'Busa and I'm looking for my next sport/sport touring machine. The KS looks sweet, but brings with it a hefty price tag.

From reading this board and others I've learned that the latest software version fixes some issues at low revs but causes "burbles" on deceleration, there may or may not be issues with the clutch, etc.

Since I'm new to BMW bikes, I'm curious why some of you that have switched from Japanese sport bikes switched to BMW and what your observations are...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old May 10th, 2006, 11:51 am

to start off I have a KR and I am 26
I had a 02 R1 and at the hang out spot 80% are GIXXERS and the rest are Kawi and yamaha and hondas with one or two Triumphs there
I wanted something way different and that I was sure no one else will show up on.
I also wanted a naked but but all the japs have are DETUNED bikes and well I still want HP and BMW gave me the best of both world with lots of extra that you can not get from JAP bikes.

Just remember as we want more HP in bikes but don't want to pay more for them, something on the back has to be cheap on it and lately the suspension on bikes have gone to shit and now you have to buy a set of ohlins shocks and forks for the bikes for the overall package and BMW did not go that way

I get shit about riding a BMW but how many sportbikes have 100,000 miles on them
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old May 10th, 2006, 12:17 pm Thread Starter

Yeah, I'm 33, but I ride with guys ranging from 20 - 60. The large majority of them ride Japanese bikes, but quite a few are on Aprillias, Ducs, and a Triumph Bonny. No beemers, yet.