New (to me) K1200S Owner - checking in - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old Jan 1st, 2020, 11:23 am Thread Starter
Noob

New (to me) K1200S Owner - checking in

Good day and Happy New Year to all!
Steve here, been riding since '97, but mostly cruisers, but got a taste of "Sport-Touring" or probably rather "Touring-Sport" with my F6B, Isleen.
In 4.5 years we've got 125,000 miles on her odo and just having a blast.
But I never got into sport bikes and have been wanting to learn.

I'm an MSF Rider Coach, but I do not have a badge in my vest nor a 'Supreme Court Justice' robe in my closet.
I flew 53s for the US Marine Corps for 20+ years.
I'm easy, but not cheap...

So...a friend of a friend of a friend's (literally) husband passed and she had to sell his 2008 K1200S with 2340 miles on it...along with his vintage race car collection.
This guy knew vehicles and was VERY particular about cleanliness. He was also a Marine. Connections were made and I went to look at it.
Very concerned about seals & tires & recalls & ABS etc...

I got a great deal on this bike and after getting her tagged & titled yesterday, I took off on a 15 minute shakedown. Oh lolololololololololololol......
Noticed a front brake reservoir leak (underside seal?) and wiped everything down.
Came out later, no static seepage, so took her on a 60 mile venture in the NW Florida farming landscape.
What a hoot!
Very slight seepage from the brake reservoir this time.

Anyway, I'm here to learn & discover.
Cheers,
Steve
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old Jan 1st, 2020, 7:40 pm
Noob

Welcome aboard!

As an additional duty, I was Chief Instructor and ran the MSF program while stationed at Ellsworth AFB. It was very rewarding and a lot of fun.