R1100rt Vs K1200gt - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old Aug 29th, 2007, 10:03 am Thread Starter
Rookie

R1100rt Vs K1200gt

I've been riding a 1998 R1100RT for six years and it's now time to update and upgrade. I've been salivating over the K1200GT and it's extra power but was wondering if the extra weight reduces the riding enjoyability in the twisties. My riding goal is to stay off the interstates.

Can anyone answer from their own personal experience?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old Aug 29th, 2007, 10:10 am
Veteran

For some reason the GT seemed smaller to me than my old R1100RT. Don't know why though. Acceleration is far above the RT though. Handles the twisties very well too.

Might want to check with your insurance as to the difference in premiums too.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old Aug 29th, 2007, 11:09 am

Cool Not to hijack a thread, but who else is getting tired...

...of the overworked word "twisties"? You cannot pick up an automotive or motorcycle publication without continued overuse of the word. To me, a twistie sounds like a snack food. What happened to curvy, winding, or any other term showing a little more reverence for the English language.

But it's probably just me having a bad day.

Chuck V. ('06 K1200S, granite grey, the FAST color.)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old Aug 29th, 2007, 11:21 am Thread Starter
Rookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckV
...of the overworked word "twisties"? You cannot pick up an automotive or motorcycle publication without continued overuse of the word. To me, a twistie sounds like a snack food. What happened to curvy, winding, or any other term showing a little more reverence for the English language.

Thanks for the constructive reply Chuck.
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old Aug 29th, 2007, 12:52 pm
Veteran

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckV