How do I plan for a 6000 mile trip? - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old Apr 18th, 2008, 5:07 pm Thread Starter

How do I plan for a 6000 mile trip?

Let me start by saying I'm a noob. I thought I had a good command of searching web sites for this information but I seem to get a lot of unrelated threads when I enter trip, packing for a trip, packing, what to take, what do you take. I run out of things to try. I have found some lists, one on this site I think, that list items for everything you can think of taking. Is there a concise, this is what to bring without any frills list? Is there any literature on doing this?

I'm guessing this has been covered in many threads before and I apologize for bring up a topic that I should be able to find on my own.

We're leaving June 2, 2008. Starting in MD we'll ride south to the "The Tail of the Dragon". North to Chicago. West to Rapid City, SD to ride the Black Hills and see Mount Rushmore. On to CO to ride the Rockies then down to the north rim of the Grand Canyon and back to MD.

I'm concerned that this is a lot of ground to cover in about 20 days. We have some 600+ mile days scheduled. The most I've done before was 400mi on an LT.

Thanks,

Friday
'07 K 1200 GT Deep Blue Metallic
10 Harley Davidson Stree Glide FLHX
History: '74 Honda CB360, '78 Yamaha XS750SE, '02 K1200RS Pacific Blue

"There is never enough time to do all the nothing you want to do" - Calvin and Hobbes
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old Apr 18th, 2008, 7:59 pm
no power in the 'verse can stop me

When you say "we", do you mean two up or you and a friend on their own bike?

Cuz that's a mighty ambitious twenty days you have planned for two up.

Look at the Ironbutt Association website. There's a lot of good advice to be found there.

http://www.ironbutt.com/about/default.cfm

tim-----still on the right side of the frostline

you can't stop the signal