BMW Squids? - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old Aug 21st, 2008, 6:58 am Thread Starter
Veteran

BMW Squids?

I don't mean to be negative A-hole, but....... Lately, i've noticed a large sum of BMW riders riding around in shorts, t-shirts, tennis shoes, and even flip-flops. I have been riding for quit a few years and the one thing i've always noticed is that dudes that ride BMW's wear gear 99% of the time. At least jackets, gloves, helmets, boots, and most wear riding pants. At least wear pants on a motorcycle.

I am not sure if this is a regional phenomenon/occurrence, since i live in a town filled with people with expendable money, but usually these guys are riding the GS's. I'm not taking a stab at the dual sport crowd, but could this be a migration of the RUB's from riding "Hogs" to riding the next "cool thing?"

Just an observation. It is just a BMW rider without gear stands out as much as a Harley rider with a DOT approved helmet.

06 K1200R,76 Yamaha RD400 VOID 7/08 ,03 Kawi ZX-6R VOID 10/10/06, 94 Suzuki GSXR-750 VOID, 85 Yamaha FJ1100 VOID
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old Aug 21st, 2008, 8:55 am
Addict

It's just one side effect of the widened BMW appeal: the bikes appeal also to a "casual" audience, guys that up until a couple of years ago wouldn't have considered BMWs because they were totally uncool...

CYA, Ed

Edoardo Licciardello

To drive is human
to ride divine
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old Aug 21st, 2008, 12:16 pm
Rookie

I guess it depends where you live. In Florida in July- September it is so hot and humid that wearing full gear is very uncomfortable. Even mesh gear is hot, I always wear my helmet ... but in the summer it's t-shirt and jeans... but never flip flops. Don't forget since long way round, then long way down your going to get the crowd buying GS's and thinking they're Charlie and Ewen.

Bill
87 K75S
Sponsored Links
Advertisement