My k1100 restore - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Jun 12th, 2010, 10:34 pm Thread Starter
Noob

My k1100 restore

Hi everyone,
I just joined the forum and recently started driving a 1996 k1100 rs with 22K known miles on it. This is my first bike and I am new to riding. I bought it on craig's list in 2008 as a project. It was in a collision and was essentially an onion as the parts came off, it made me cry. After two years of browsing ebay and beemer boneyard for parts and lots of time invested I have it back on the road with a clean title (:
I came across this forum and figured I'd put up some pics to see what everyone thought. This is it when I picked it up.

I paid 2500$ for it and 200$ for a spare engine and fork assembly with the front wheel. Now I know I got screwed... so please no negative comments. The guy laughed all the way to the bank and I was left with an insane project that took two years. The story the seller fed me was that the bike was rear ended and only the fairings were damaged. He supplied replacements, which simply needed to be installed and painted. I rode it around the neighborhood before buying and it ran beautifully (hard to kill a bmw). So I got it home and started ripping it apart and found the frame was bent... TERRIBLE. I was stumped for a few days then after much gogleing found The Frame Man Frame Man . Which by the way, all k-bike owners should know about. They have a factory frame jig and can straighten frames, rims, axels, and do fork rebuilds. Part of the process removes all fatigue from the metal as well. I also sent them both rims and my front axel (which were all tweaked).