Quiet Helmet - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 26th, 2006, 5:59 pm Thread Starter
Enthusiast

Quiet Helmet

Am on a search for a new helmet for long weekends and touring. Needs to be quiet when riding the K bikes and have good air flow. Currently own the Arai Corsair and love it. Fits fabulous, light and has good airflow. Only problem is it gets a bit noisy even with ear plugs in.
Am thinking of the Schuberth flipup. Have heard they are quiet. So, who is using one of the Schuberths OR what other helmets would you suggest I look at.
Thanks for the assist!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 26th, 2006, 6:26 pm

I have been using a Schubert C1 flip up for the past two years and 30K miles. It seemed fairly quite initially, but the older it gets and the more I open and close it, it doesn't seem as quiet. In fact now I think it downright noisy. They say the new C2 flip up from Schuberth is better. But the new S1 full face from Schubert is the best for low noise. It also has the sun shade. If you don't need a flip up go for the high priced S1.

'04 K1200RS
'07 R1200RT
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 26th, 2006, 7:33 pm
Enthusiast

I have been wearing a Shoei X-11 for the past two years. It's very quiet (the quietest helmet I've ever experienced), very comfortable with good peripheral vision. Face shields are very easy to change out. No tools needed. Plus, it is probably one of the most vented helmets on the market. Vents in the chin bar, vents on the forehead, vents on top, and vents in the rear of the helmet. On those hot summer days you can actually feel the flow-through ventilation. Personally, I'm not completely sold on the safety aspects of the flip front helmets. I'm sure they're fine, it's just a personal thing, I guess. Nevertheless, the Shoei X-11 is worth a look-see. Oh yeah, Shoei has some really KOOL graphics on some of their X-11's.