First bike reality - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old May 19th, 2006, 12:15 am Thread Starter
Noob

Talking First bike reality

Hello,

I am in the market for my first road bike. I currently have an off-road (KTM 450) that I enjoy very much, but wish I had started the whole motorcycle thing much earler. I have only owned an off-road bike for the last 2 years.

The master plan for the road bike is a daily commuter, weekend rider, and a vacation tourer. My brother and father (both riders, one very experienced, one moderately so) and I have lofty plans of taking some trips together....anything from weekend trips in California to quick trips to Nebraska (family) and back.

Ok, now to the point....
Given I have zero experience on a road bike, is it unexcusable to look at a K1200gt or R1200rt as a first bike? Is it unforgivable? Or, merely not recommended? Or, no problem, go for it!

I'm sure the most common answer would be: "start with the _____ (insert much smaller bike) and work your way up" to gain experience. And while that is certainly sound advice, is it the overwhelmingly most common response?

I am cautious by nature and would like to think that I could ease into the ownership of a BMW. Please let me know your thoughts.

Thanks,
John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old May 19th, 2006, 1:50 am

Hi John,