From GS to RS - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Oct 1st, 2007, 4:20 pm Thread Starter

From GS to RS

Yeah baby! I sold my '04 R1150GS and the wife bought a new '07 R1200RT. I'm now riding her old bike, well really not old... a '04 K1200RS that she has had since brand new two years ago. She put 38K on it and it's pristine, we have taken excellent care of it. Now the Piedmont Red beauty is mine. Believe it or not I never rode it until this past week. And in the past week I have logged about 800 miles. My initial impressions are good. I really like the silky smoothness and the acceleration. I'm still learning how to sit correctly on the RS so that I don't put too much pressure on my arms. After 56K miles on the GS this new riding position takes a little work. My wife had the pegs in the upper position and I have been riding with them up there, but I think I'm going to move them back down so I can get better weight on my butt and feet.

After riding the RS for the past week, all I can say is "She is one tuff chick".
FlagGS soon to be FlagRS

'04 K1200RS
'07 R1200RT
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Oct 1st, 2007, 6:19 pm

Congrat's on your new-to-you ride. Just remember to grip the tank with your knees, keep your elbow's bent, weight on your footpegs and use your abs (abdominal muscles-not braking system ) to help keep weight off your hands. As a fellow K-RS rider, I would be very interested in hearing your comparative analysis between the GS and the RS. I read so much great stuff about the GS's, yet given the choice you chose the RS. I know why the RS is such a great bike, now why is it better (to you) than the GS? Inquiring minds want to know.

Thanks and enjoy the smoothest bike on the planet.

Moosedog
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old Oct 1st, 2007, 7:02 pm Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moosedog