Adjusting valves - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Nov 18th, 2007, 9:23 pm Thread Starter
MIK

Adjusting valves

I've been reading that K bikes rarely needed valve adjustment. Not my K... Got bike with 6K miles on it. Checked valves first time at 12K -- 1 inlet valve was too tight. Checked again at 24K -- 5 inlet valves were too tight. I guess, the way I ride it has something to do with it... maybe. What is strange is that exhaust valves stay in spec. Weird.

Also, I have a question about checking exhaust valves clearance. The range is 0.25-0.30 mm, 0.25 feeler is still soft enough that it bends if it doesn't fit, but everything 0.3mm and above I can force under the lobe without bending the feeler. Since I am not a mechanic and have to question myself all the time -- I am sure that exhaust valves are not too tight, but I am not sure if they are not too loose. The only thing that keeps me sane is that the valves not suppose to go looser with mileage, so if bike made to 24K without problems then I don't have to worry about valves being too loose. Do I get it right?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old Nov 18th, 2007, 9:50 pm
Veteran

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIK
I've been reading that K bikes rarely needed valve adjustment. Not my K... Got bike with 6K miles on it. Checked valves first time at 12K -- 1 inlet valve was too tight. Checked again at 24K -- 5 inlet valves were too tight. I guess, the way I ride it has something to do with it... maybe. What is strange is that exhaust valves stay in spec. Weird.