BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

2000 to 2003 K1200RS Differences

18K views 20 replies 13 participants last post by  crh 
#1 ·
I'm new to this gig and have found a couple bikes I really like.
Is there any significant changes on this bike/years?
Thanks
James

#4 ·
98-01: ABS without linked and servo assisted brakes. Older style fairing/windshield with detachable front signal pods. 5" rear wheel with 170/60-17 tire. No electronic cruise. Rear shock preload adjustment with a traditional shock wrench. Brembo calipers. Available in the best colors: Dakar Yellow on the 98-99 and Mandarin Yellow on the 00-01.

02-04: Linked and servo assisted ABS brakes. Newer style windshield/fairing with integrated front signals. 5.5" rear wheel with 180/55-17 tire. Electronic cruise. Rear shock preload adjustment with a knob. BMW calipers. Good colors unavailable.

Mine is a 2001 and I like it best mostly for the fact that it does not have linked/servo electronic brakes, plus it has the sexy Italian Brembo calipers. If you take your bike to the dealer for everything, then I guess it doesn't matter. If you like to do everything yourself (like me) then "less is more", especially when it comes to the extremely complex brakes on the later bikes. You will get arguments either way, but I Iove mine just the way it is.

EDIT: The GT was introduced in 2002 and has the same features as the RS with the addition of more stuff, like saddlebags, larger windshield, etc.

#6 ·
Quite simply, the 2000 model is way better looking. :yesnod:

Aside from the power brakes on the later model, and a couple of
minor odds and ends, the bikes are essentially the same.

Get the one that strikes your fancy ( or budget ) the most.

#9 ·
My 2000 K12RS came with a 180/55 – 17 and a 5.5” wheel. The owner’s also manual confirms the tire requirement in 180/55-17. To the best of my knowledge the signals are not removable. I have seen no mention of it in the manual and have seen no clasps.