Installing J&M CB - need help! - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Sep 2nd, 2009, 6:14 pm Thread Starter

Installing J&M CB - need help!

I am a newbie and am installing a handlebar mounted CB. The instructions say not to connect to the battery, of course. It would be convenient to connect to a 4 prong under the left side of the seat. Any idea which wire is power? Blue/white, Blue/black, Red/white, There is also Brown (ground I think?) BTW - what is that 4 prong for in the first place.

UTurn 2004 K1200GT - Best bike I ever owned!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Sep 3rd, 2009, 7:46 pm Thread Starter

Found out.

Wound up connecting to tail light power....works great
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Sep 7th, 2009, 7:13 pm
Enthusiast

Forgive me if I am wrong, but I thought that wiring pretty much anything to the tail light on the classic GT was a bad idea? I thought you would eventually get error readings from the ABS?

.....Mike
'10 K1300GT
Royal Blue Metallic
Garmin Zumo 660
Nolan N-103 w/ BT Kit
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old Sep 8th, 2009, 3:23 am
Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrlajoie
Forgive me if I am wrong, but I thought that wiring pretty much anything to the tail light on the classic GT was a bad idea? I thought you would eventually get error readings from the ABS?
From what I've read, the problem has more to do with not drawing enough current through the brake light (replacement led tails) because the ABS does a check for a working bulb and the brake switch is used as part of the activation sensing.

I can't see a problem if he's connected into the parking light/tail unless the newer electrical systems are looking for over current on that circuit and might see the extra load as a short.