Ecu Change???? - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Dec 17th, 2005, 6:37 pm Thread Starter

Ecu Change????

I just bought a 04 GT and have been reading the posts about ECU replacement. Can someone explain what this is about?? My GT only has ~2000 miles, cuts off a few times when I first start it in cold weather, dies when I try to give it throttle when I first start it, and smokes like hell when I first start it up. I am new to BMWs and not sure what might be up with this. After it warms up it is fine. I saw some previoue posts about the ECU and some of my symptoms, and about a replacement from the dealer. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Dec 17th, 2005, 6:54 pm
Addict

Get down to ye olde BMW shop and get the ECU replaced - pronto. Since you're not the original owner and probably don't have a strong relationship with the dealer you should do this before the end of the year. It is not a recall but a "technical service bulletin" # 13 00204 057 (Covers 03/04 K1200RS/GT models). Mention the cold start off-idle stumble and you qualify.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old Dec 17th, 2005, 8:49 pm
Riding in company

Look at this thread: http://www.k-bikes.com/forums/showth...ht=replacement

BillA
Jersey Shore
K1200RS '04
BSA Victor '68ish
Club Car golf cart '92
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old Dec 17th, 2005, 8:50 pm
Addict

Smokin'!!

The smoking on start up is because you park it on the side stand and/or do not keep it upright for 30 seconds or so after you stop the motor,to allow the oil to drain back to the sump.
Congrats on your purchase!!

The ECU replacement is free by the way.I think it is for all 03 and 04 RS/GT built before April or May 04.
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old Dec 17th, 2005, 9:02 pm
Enthusiast

Banjoman,