Synchronizing throttle bodies - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Jan 17th, 2006, 11:43 am Thread Starter

Synchronizing throttle bodies

First I must say that I'm new to the K RS (5 months) and love every moment that I ride it. Was disapointed yesterday because I had to take my FJ1200 out instead of the K RS on a 200 mile ride.

My question is, can the throttle bodies be synchronized like regular carbs? I did the throttle spring relaxation (left spring) and noticed that the idle is now between 1500 and 2000.

I poked around a little and discovered the left most throttle butterfly does not close fully after the spring has been relaxed. Pushing it close with a screw driver, the idle goes back down to normal. Just to make sure I didn't have a vacuum leak, I put the spring back to the upper tab and the idle was fine. Moved the spring back to the lower tab (relaxed), opened and closed the throttle a few times and the idle goes back up to 1500 rpm. Checked again to make sure that it wasn't the throttle cable that was causing this.

I'm thinking that the left throttle spring puts out so much tension that when it is relaxed, the left carb goes out of sync because there is less tension on the link to the next throttle body. If I coud resync the carbs, or at least the left most one, I could bring the idle back down.

Even if resynchronizing the throttle bodies may not be the solution, they are out of sync anyway. Checked it with the throttle spring on the upper tab. Can I still resync the throttle bodies like regular carbs?

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Jan 19th, 2006, 11:35 am
"Hey Y'all"

Quote:
Originally Posted by gila
........My question is, can the throttle bodies be synchronized like regular carbs? I..........
Pre '02, yes.

'02 and newer, no. Dangit.

p.s. Would somone drill off these caps on their bike and tell me if the screws are there?