Howl noise at 50 mph from rear - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old Jul 19th, 2013, 6:17 am Thread Starter
Rookie

Howl noise at 50 mph from rear

The title of this post pretty much says it all. Just noticed it for the first time yesterday on my 2002 K1200RS. Just a mid pitch, not real loud howl, at EXACTLY 50 mph. Seems to be in the rear and I'm not yet convinced that it has to do with final drive. It's a resonant kind of thing.

I'm going to try a bit more tire pressure in the rear and see if it changes. I've experienced this kind of thing with a few car tires on customers cars. (I'm an auto tech) I'll report back on anything I find out. I figured I'd share it here in case anyone else has this occur. Hopefully I can track it down.

Thoughts...?

Dino

2001 K1200 RS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old Jul 19th, 2013, 7:34 am Thread Starter
Rookie

OK so I checked tire pressures before the drive to work today and they're in spec.The howl was still there. I set the cruise control at 50 mph and then leaned the bike off center left and right. Definitely noticed a change in level of sound as I did this, more so when I leaned right. It was a little less in that direction. I'm thinking it may be the early signs of a worn rear wheel bearing. Time to pull the wheel for an inspection.

2001 K1200 RS
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old Jul 21st, 2013, 11:16 am
Addict

I also find the best way to listen for RD impending doom is to run the bike up to about 60 on a straight quite road, then roll off the throttle and coast whilst listening. When the bearing shim clearances go awol, you can pick it up more on decel.

BUT higher pitch noises are serious things to look at soon, because they may come from the pinion/crown gear mesh. Check the RD oil for any metal fragments.