Your thoughts on used K1200LT - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Aug 25th, 2013, 5:13 pm Thread Starter
Noob

Question Your thoughts on used K1200LT

Hi everyone, I'm still wet behind the ears on this site so please go easy....

I've been riding a 2000 Road King for 7 years. Never did more than a couple hundred miles in one day, and have never done an overnight. But I'd like to start doing some touring, and my bucket list is to ride the canyonlands for a couple of weeks. So I'm trying to gather opinions on what used bike might best suit my needs.

First: my other half says she'll tour with me, but she's not ridden a full day with me yet. So I'm skeptical she'll follow through. Just *maybe* the heated seat, stereo and armrests, with a quiet muffler will convince her. So I want a comfortable pillion.

My next bike will definitely have ABS and heated grips. I'd like the heated seat, traction control and adjustable windshield. My preliiminary BMW research leads me to believe that the K bikes might take a little less maintenance and be easier to maintain than the R bikes - though I like the weight of the R-bike better. As far as BMW goes, I've only ridden an R1200GS. I'm not sure how advanced of a rider I'll ever become as far as speed needs and really getting it on in the twisties.

I ran across a 2002 K1200LT with only 22k miles on it. He's asking $6,800 and it's LOADED and very clean. The guy is 2 hours away and I haven't ridden any other models to compare with, so I'm hesitant to just go out there and BUY it.

One last thing (and I realize you're mostly biased towards BMW). I'm also considering the FJR1300 because it is less expensive and easier to find parts/mechanics. I wouldn't be doing much if any of the service on anything I buy.

I appreciate your thoughts!
Thanks,
Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old Aug 25th, 2013, 6:44 pm
Rookie