Bluetooth GPS - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Sep 15th, 2013, 12:54 pm Thread Starter
Noob

Bluetooth GPS

I have been using a very old Roadmate Magellan GPS for quite a few years, now it is time to upgrade. As I don't want to take my eyes off the road, I am looking for voice commands to come through my Bluetooth headset.

Do the new Bluetooth GPS have - spoken directions via my headset? My search for this answer is not very clear on the web sites I've visited.

Hopefully someone has info on this.

Thanks in advance.

Honda S90 - 16
Kawasaki 175
BSA GoldStar
Honda 550
Kawasaki Vulcan
Harley Wide Glide
Harley Electric Glide Classic
Harley Night Train-Current
BMW K1200GT-Current
my wife said STOP!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Sep 15th, 2013, 8:01 pm
Rookie

I have been trying to use my iPhone with a Uclear bluetooth headset with mixed results. I have taken this approach as I too was concerned about being distracted by the GPS screen. The cost of a dedicated GPS that is designed for exposure to the elements was also a factor.

One challenge with either the apple map application or google map application is the reliance on having a data connection for the map itself. In areas with spotty 3G coverage, you could run into troubles.

I have purchased the Navigon iPhone application as it comes with map data that loads onto your iPhone so you always have it available. Unfortunately, you have to start the application while you have a 3G connection so that it can authorize itself so don't wait until your lost in the middle of no where to turn it on.

I haven't been able to figure out how to easily preload a route into the Navigon software. Rarely do I take the shortest/fastest route when I ride as I am typically looking for scenic twisty roads to have fun on.