Introduction - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old May 14th, 2014, 4:10 pm Thread Starter
Noob

Introduction

Greetings to all K-bike lovers. Just a registered "newbie" from SoCal over here. Newbie on the forum, but 1999 1200RS owner since new.

Long story short,......bought the bike new, put 19K miles on it, went through divorce, loss of business, home,....."usual" stuff. SHTF in 2009, and the bike was parked since! I've been riding since 1969, and I own three bikes at the moment, so I should've known better, but being under a LOT of stress, I did not do ANYTHING to stabilize the fuel, or anything else to protect the bike.

Bike was parked for FIVE years (indoors), and about a month ago, I decided to put it back in service. Dead battery, no fuel pump, .......usual stuff. Since I am totally DIY type, I took my tools to it. Disassembled EVERYTHING. Fuel pump was totally gummed up, in tank hoses melted, leaving the black goo behind.......the works. Since it was "stored" indoors, there was no other damage. New battery, new oil and filter, new fuel pump and the hoses/filter in the tank, new DOT4,......and she came back to life!

My new wife was never on the bike before, but we own 140 acre horse ranch, with six horses, and she RIDES. She claims her Arabian steers just like a bike (we each have three horses, and we don't share, also,.....at 6'2" I am way too big for the Arabian, so I don't know how it "steers"). Finally convinced her to join me on the K this last Sunday, and we had a blast!

I also put one other one back in service (KTM 640LC), and I also have 1993 ZX11 (that one will have to wait a little, before I restore it, or maybe I'll just sell it).

Anyway,....it feels great to be back on the K, and I searched the web, and found this forum. I lived all over the world (ret. military), and rode bikes on all continents, so I figured, I could contribute something to this community.

Thanks for reading.