Barn Find! Yellow 2001 K1200RS - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Sep 21st, 2016, 10:34 pm Thread Starter
Noob

Barn Find! Yellow 2001 K1200RS

Howdy. Noob to the site after having awesome Craigslist luck. I found a 1400 mile (yes, that's 1400 vice 14,000) 2001 model K1200RS for sale and found the deal too good to pass up. I this is my first time on a BMW and this is an amazing machine after coming off of Japanese bikes. This thing feels like it was milled from a solid block of aluminum. The previous owner was scared of the bike so he rarely rode it. He did keep up with the brake fluid changes and converted to stainless brake lines. It runs like a top. Ive ordered some new tires as with a 42nd week of year 2000 production date they have vastly exceeded their shelf life even though they are barely worn. Only problem I can see is an erratic full gauge. When full its at a quarter tank one minute and at half the next. It never does get to full even when the tank is topped off. Any pointers from the experienced crowd? I'm stoked to be a member of the community.

Addition: Had time over the last two days to put about 200 miles on the bike. Wow..just WOW! Other than the fuel gauge the only issue I can detect is very low fuel mileage. Cruising steadily 50-60 mph on 2 lane highway with empty side cases and me aboard (250 pounds) I was only able to get 32 mpg. I've not yet been able to collect up the service manuals but another poster had mentioned the necessity to reset the throttle by twisting it fully with engine off and switch on after a battery change (thinking the battery has been changed or dead sometime over the years). It this really a legit process on these bikes and could I expect to see an increase in fuel economy after I perform this? The bike seems to be performing just fine but I do not have a point of reference to compare to.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version