It Just Stopped - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Jul 8th, 2018, 5:09 pm Thread Starter
Faz
Noob

It Just Stopped

Hi everyone, can anybody give me some advice. I've been riding my 2003 K1200GT for a few years now with no problems. yesterday, however it just stopped and left me stranded on the side of the road. It surged a couple of time then cut out. It turns over but wont fire. It's either fuel or spark, I don't know. Any thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Jul 9th, 2018, 1:07 am
Noob

Garage
Had you done any work, service?
I would start with the tank quick disconnects, after that get the plastic off and start checking.

Alex.

Alex.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old Jul 12th, 2018, 10:40 pm
cws

Quote:
Originally Posted by Faz View Post
Hi everyone, can anybody give me some advice. I've been riding my 2003 K1200GT for a few years now with no problems. yesterday, however it just stopped and left me stranded on the side of the road. It surged a couple of time then cut out. It turns over but wont fire. It's either fuel or spark, I don't know. Any thoughts?
Hi Faz. Could be you have a split fuel line inside the tank... not an uncommon problem that will do what you are experiencing.
In fact I suspect my next door neighbours LT might be suffering the same problem.... will find out soon enough when it starts getting stripped down.
You can supposedly tell by looking in the fuel tank and turning the engine on.... if you hear a "swishing" sound of fuel as it tries to prime then chances are the hose has split, or popped off.
The fuel pump and filter looks like this... it's all inside the tank
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Complete-43...AAAOSwySVaQ7Zt

Could also be a dodgy spark plug lead.....?

Chris
Sydney, NSW
2005 Dark Graphite Metallic K1200LT
2005 Orient Blue Metallic K1200GT SE
Ulysses #45310
GS911

Sponsored Links
Advertisement