BMW K1200, K1300, and K1600 Forum banner

2004 K1200GT Both headlamps out. Wiring? Switch?

5K views 15 replies 3 participants last post by  H96669 
#1 ·
Noticed both Hi/Lo bulbs out and the switch indicates a constant Hi-Beam. Replaced bulbs, checked fuse and discovered there is no specific relay. All other electrics are fine. I'm a horrible automotive electrician, but I suspect I'll need to check the headlamp switch and thereafter wiring.

Am I missing something embarrassingly obvious?

The bike is currently naked (sans fairing and fuel tank) and is awaiting me changing the oil, air filter and general PMCS. I have also removed the battery given its unknown age. The bike was purchased used, last year at 34,000 miles and now has about 39,000.

As an aside, my primary bike (Victory XR) is in the shop for two new fork seals, so I'm burning up good fall weather!

Regards,

Mike

#2 ·
Pull headlight out and check the brown ground wire.There was a time when the RS/GTs were burning up the ground wire.That wire grounds both Hi/Lo and wire gauge is rather small so resistance increases,wire heats up then poof.....lights out!

Probably one of the first mod I did to my 03RS was beefing up the ground.Temporarily for one season until I bypassed all that with a relay setup.

Reactions: copperhead1861
#3 ·
Noticed both Hi/Lo bulbs out and the switch indicates a constant Hi-Beam. Replaced bulbs, checked fuse and discovered there is no specific relay. All other electrics are fine. I'm a horrible automotive electrician, but I suspect I'll need to check the headlamp switch and thereafter wiring.

Am I missing something embarrassingly obvious?

The bike is currently naked (sans fairing and fuel tank) and is awaiting me changing the oil, air filter and general PMCS. I have also removed the battery given its unknown age. The bike was purchased used, last year at 34,000 miles and now has about 39,000.
You already got the hint where to look from H96669 post.