Sargent vs Corbin - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old Feb 16th, 2020, 9:04 pm Thread Starter
Noob

Garage
Sargent vs Corbin

Would those of you that have had both Sargent and Corbin seats please comment on how they compare and which you liked better? I'm finally replacing the OEM seat on my 2003 K1200 RS. I'm leaning toward the Sargent based on looks, but comfort is the primary reason for replacing it, so I'm interested to hear how they compare on comfort.

Thanks in advance!

2003 K1200RS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old Feb 17th, 2020, 2:03 am
Enthusiast

Donít discount the heated factory GT seat as an option. I have been using a GT seat on my Ď02 RS for many years and have done well over 100,000 kms. A sore butt was part of the experience on the oem RS seat, but with the GT seat I can ride virtually indefinitely with no discomfort. I also purchased a GT right hand switch block (USD50.00)and wired this into the RS wiring loom so I have the factory seat controls. Wiring in the GT switch block is relatively straight forward, just a bit fiddly and time consuming but not difficult with a wiring diagram on hand. I documented the process on I-BMW but that info is now lost. GT seats come up in the classified section here from time to time and no doubt are available on eBay.

2002 K1200RS Owned from new. Pacific Blue, Ohlins. 183,000kmís
2016 K1300R Black, Remus hexacone. 6000kmís
The family history
1951 AJS 500 single - my Dads
1916 Triumph Type H, Western front, France WW1 - my Grandads
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old Feb 17th, 2020, 10:37 am
Rookie

Garage
Iíve owned two Corbin and two Sargent seats.
Corbins are well made. Leather is standard.
However, they are firm to very firm, heavy and more expensive.

Sargents are also well made. They are less firm than a Corbin and are less expensive.