600 Mile Maintenance - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Apr 7th, 2007, 10:28 am Thread Starter
Rookie

600 Mile Maintenance

This probably has been covered a few times, but here it goes.
Whats in 600mile maintenance, my bike is about 900 miles and AFAIK it still has all the factory fluids.
Ridding season in Calgary is a bit late starting this year, for us guys without snow tires
This is my first K and just sold my 04RT (still in my garage....no snow tires) and I'm looking forward to enjoying it this summer and maybe jumping into a 06 or 07 KGT.
As I'm a newbie in the K world all info is apreciated.

Thanks
FF
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Apr 7th, 2007, 10:36 am
Addict

skip it

if i had it to do over again, i would change oil myself at 600 and ride on. dealers regularly charge hundreds of dollars for "scheduled" maintenance, and do little if anything. i paid for 6k and 12k service that supposedly included checking valves. i finally, at 24k, decided to go in and check some things myself. valve covers had never been off. nor had gas filter ever been changed. so now i do all of it myself. shame on dealers!
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old Apr 7th, 2007, 10:45 am
Enthusiast

From the Clymer manual:
Read fault memory with MoDiTeC unit
Perform bleed test on ABS with MoDiTeC unit
Check throttle free play
Change engine oil and filter
Change final drive oil
Check clutch fluid
Check front and rear brake fluid and adjust if nec.
Check cooling system for leaks
Check coolant level and concentration
Check sidestand switch operation
Check rear wheel bolt tightness
Check swingarm bearing play; adjust if nec.
Perform safety checks
Road test

Since it appears your bike has not been serviced before in it's initial three years, you will also have to have annual service done which includes the additional work:

Change brake fluid in wheel circuit (integral ABS)
Replace coolant