Why do I want to buy an '03 GT? - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old May 7th, 2007, 4:56 pm Thread Starter

Why do I want to buy an '03 GT?

I've been riding an R1150R oilhead Boxer for four years now, and it's great for what it does, but the urge for something a bit more touring oriented has bit me again (as it often does). I'd been thinking that maybe my tired old bones (I'm 55 but fit) might want something in a sit-up-and-go-tour-bike like a K1200LT. But then the other day, a guy in my BMW club let me ride his '03 GT for about 20 miles, and all I can say is, WOW!

I liked EVERYTHING about that bike - the smooth rush of big power especially. I had fun playing with the electric windscreen - he currently has a real short Z Tecknik screen on there. I didn't test the heated seats, as it was 85 degrees out, nor did I get to test the cruise control. Only thing remotely negative about the whole experience was that I felt my feet and ankles getting warm as I tooled around in city traffic. Once out on the interstate, as I watched the temp gauge move back down, the heat went away from my feet. Did I mention I LOVED that big rush of power as I merged onto the interstate?

So, tell me why I would want to sell my perfectly adequate, reliable, lightweight Roadster that gets 42 mpg locally (and 46+ on the highway) for this beautiful GT?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old May 7th, 2007, 5:11 pm
Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by RapidRobert
But then the other day, a guy in my BMW club let me ride his '03 GT for about 20 miles, and all I can say is, WOW!
Ride it for a longer distance than twenty miles. MUCH longer, if you can. That way you can see if the seating position is something that you can live with, or would need to be altered via aftermarket goodies.

Black 2002 K1200RS - "The Beast" (over 100k miles)
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old May 7th, 2007, 6:15 pm

Quote: