Windscreen comparo - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old May 2nd, 2008, 1:20 pm Thread Starter

Windscreen comparo

So... I've played around a bit with replacement windscreens for my K1200GT. I've had it a little over a month with about 1200 miles on it so far. I purchased a dealer (San Jose BMW) demo with right at 600 miles on the clock. Seemed like a lot of miles for a demo but I was told that the owner and wife took it for a trip up the coast. Anyway, I've strayed from the topic already.

For the last 4 years I've ridden a bike with no windshield or fairing. I'm 5'11" (34" inseam) and the first thing I noticed about the GT was that the windshield did an excellent job of blocking airflow to my head and chest with no buffeting at all. However, with the same helmet I had been riding with for two years (HJC Symax I), their was a deafening roar in my ears which I never had in the unblocked, smooth airflow on my previous bike.

My first instinct was to try the tall OEM screen. I found a member here selling one. Fortunately, he very wisely had me measure the vertical height of my screen before we "did the deal" and we discovered that I already was running the tall screen. Maybe it was installed before the trip "up the coast."

So, I continued to read up on windscreens and scan the forum for used alternatives. I came across an excellent deal from a member here and was able to purchase two screens from him, in perfect condition, and combine shipping costs: a ZTechnic VStream and a Cee Bailey +6, +2. When I took the screens out of the box, the VStream was pretty unusual looking while the Bailey had a very stock look but with a moderate laminar lip at the top. The Bailey looked more promising to me so I started with the VStream, with the theory that if I liked the Bailey better, I could just leave it on at the end of the test.