Heat Troller install - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old Jun 15th, 2008, 9:37 pm Thread Starter
Strafist

Heat Troller install

After getting caught in 34 degrees and rainy weather on a run from Terlingua to Alpine, I decided to something about it. I've had the Widder stuff for many years, but it's just about a dedicated wear. In other words, you really need to start out wearing it, with the arm chaps and all. Seeings how it was real nice in the Big Bend area, I wore my mesh gear and brought the liners along with it. Having to bring another piece of gear is just too much a PITA. Getting ambushed by the weather, even with the stock Olympia liners, was miserable.

I started studying this stuff and settled for the Warm & Safe stuff. They invented the Heat Troller which Gerbings used till they shipped it to China, had it reversed engineered and now it's a piece of crap.

Got the Gen III jacket liner, which blocks the wind and is good for mesh stuff. Also got the fancy gloves and the the dual mount heat troller. Installed them today.

I started off by peeling the bike and removing the tank so I could run my wires with the rest of them, neatly encased and zip tied to the the frame. After the LT tech session yesterday, working on the GT is a simple dream. While I had the tank off, I removed the filler and drilled it to enable quickly adding the last 1/2 gallon (thanks, Ken!).

I put the controller knobs on the side of the dash

And the box under the seat

The paperwork that comes with the unit says if you cut any wires you void the warranty. I voided the warranty. There was no way to put the box under the seat without cutting the the battery connects on the power wires (which are run to a dedicated 15a circuit on the Painless Fuse Box). There really was nowhere else to put the box and have the plugs to the jacket and gloves reach. So be it.