1st long trip, should I? - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old Jun 29th, 2008, 2:10 pm Thread Starter

1st long trip, should I?

Hello all, me again.

So I've been digging up info on tolls and ez pass in another thread for this trip I'm thinking about taking. I was hoping (counting on it actually) all y'alls two cents worth . I've never done a trip this long, before my GT I was a "casual" rider. Though I got the GT to do some cruising, this would be my first over-the-road trip. 600 miles from Ohio up to Wisconsin, spend a few days with the family, then back home. All interstate, through Chicago and the toll roads.

I think I can get through it, though after the first 200 miles I won't have much of a choice. I was planning on one day to do it, just git'r'done. Just never done a trip like this, that's all. Any words of encouragement, warning, whatever. I know all of you busted outta town for the first time at some point (except maybe Grif, just a hunch, he was born on a road trip )

Gear - 2008 KGT, saddle bags, BMW soft top case. Hope to add a powered Marsee tank bag and MAYBE a GPS by then if I can bribe my wife. Full textile gear too, so I'm geared up.

Just looking for some input, a litmus test if you will, am I crazy? Thanks everyone!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old Jun 29th, 2008, 4:34 pm
Enthusiast

600 can tire you down pretty good if everything is not going good. I like to take frequent stops, like 125-150 miles at a clip or less if you are getting tired. Fuel up the bike and eat a snack. Don't push, just enjoy the ride, the miles will be gone before you know it.

I shove off tuesday for about 1300 miles in 2 days, total of around 2600 one way then 1900 return home, total of 12-13 days.

12 Super Tenere 1200 (coming soon)
10 MTS1200 standard (riding)
09 Monster 696 (wife's ride)
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old Jun 29th, 2008, 4:54 pm
no power in the 'verse can stop me