New GT..............? - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old Jul 19th, 2008, 4:06 am Thread Starter
Noob

New GT..............?

Just found this forum, I have been hanging around the "BMW Luxury Tourer" group for several years. I had an 06 RT that I just recently sold and I bought a 2008 GT. Searching around I found this forum which seems a little more in tune with the Sport touring side of the BMW line.

I will preface my question be first saying I have ridden mostly twins (HD, BMW, Ducati, Triumph), and, I live in Nevada where the interstate posted speed limit is 75. It has been known we travel well above that when we are away from the city/s, how do you guys watch the tachometer when it is hovering at 5000+ RPM"s, most of my past bikes red lined at 5000 RPM's. I know this engine is/was designed for these types of RPM's but it is driving me nuts. To make matters worse, I stopped at a large BMW dealer in one of the bigger cities in Nevada and I was told by the Service Department Manager, he did not believe this new K engine will have the longevity or the durability of the R's (past/present) or the older K motors. He felt that, because of the weight and the horsepower that these engine are producing a 100,000 miles would be a rarity. However, he did say that cruising at 5000 and well above is not hurting this engine in the least. I guess I am just not used to seeing my tachometer hovering at what seems like ungodly high numbers. I don't want to create an argument especially since it is my first post on this forum, I just want to get some opinions as well to see what total miles some of you guys have on this now 3 year old K platform, thanks.............Bob
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old Jul 19th, 2008, 6:09 am
Enthusiast