Difference 'tween US & EU Models - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Aug 20th, 2008, 5:17 am Thread Starter

Difference 'tween US & EU Models

I was sitting here looking through some posts on the PCIII, and thinking about this raised the question as to what the difference would be between a GT sold in the US, and one sold in the EU.

The first thing that comes to mind is emission control, especially for CA. This however, is not a fundamental difference. Having said that however, the emission controls here are also quite strict (I am talking of CH. DE and elsewhere, I have no knowledge)

But what would the fundamental differences be? (if any)

Lets put a 'frinstance out there.

1. I move to the US, I bring my GT because I have spent ungodly amounts of dosh on Farkles. I can't really see too much to do. The Farkles I am talking about here are not modifications to the engine and racing exhaust systems etc. (you would assumedly have to comply to some sort of noise check as well) but I mean the prudy Farkles like chrome

2. One of you Blokes in the US decide to move to the EU. Because you have also spent far too much on Farkles, you bring it with you, and you go into the Motor Registry to get thing registered. I know from experience with my V-rod, there were some minor changes to the lighting and since I had lived in the US for a while, I did not have to go through the sales tax exercise, since it was considered part of my personal effects, and not as an 'import' as such. The paperwork was a real pain, but the actual inspection was dead easy.

Anyway, enough dribble from me for the moment, and lets see what you blokes have to say.

Bloke
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Aug 20th, 2008, 8:37 am
Would rather be riding

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBloke