Trying to Decide... BMW or not... ? - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Jun 3rd, 2009, 2:16 pm Thread Starter

Trying to Decide... BMW or not... ?

Hello All,

I have been pondering and reading and looking for almost 2 years, preparing to buy another bike. I haven't ridden in about 24 years. Last bike I had was a Suzuki GS 1100 with a Hannigan Fairing. Been raising kids and working and such. Promised my bride no bikes till the kids get out of the house. Well the last one just graduated high school and it looks like by Fall I will have the money set aside to finally buy one.

I have always liked the BMW Twins, and was pretty set on looking at the RT, but the GT is very awesome to look at and to sit on. (My wife really likes the old timey cruiser look, so if we don't do this type of bike, it will likely be a triumph or maybe a jap bike.)

Anyway, this is not a GT or RT question. I will ride both this summer and decide then. This is a "Should I get a BMW?" question. I live in a very central location. About 5-6 hours from anything interesting... like a BMW dealership. I might be able to do some maintenance, but probably only very minor. If I have spare time, I want to ride, not wrench... I have been following this and the LT forums for some time. I see that for some folks, it seems their bike is always going back for troubleshooting. Am I too far from a dealership to even entertain this?

What would you do?

Also, if I opt for the BMW, what is the best little trailer that I could use to put the bike on if I need to take it to the shop? Needs to be small and light to fit behind a leetle car...

Thanks for any help.
John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Jun 3rd, 2009, 2:28 pm
Rookie

How far away is a Japanese shop?

2008 K1200GT
2005 FZ1
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old Jun 3rd, 2009, 2:37 pm
Veteran

Quote:
Originally Posted by jumpinjohn