Bad Habits - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old Jun 19th, 2009, 8:59 pm Thread Starter
Rookie

Bad Habits

I readily admit that I am not a professional rider. I have been riding on and off since I was 16 (over 20 years) and have noticed something; my bad habits. Not only does my riding position leave a lot to be desired (which I am practicing) but my ability to properly maneuver the bike is much more .....noticeable. It seems my current bike is quickly pointing out my inability to make smooth transitions. I know it's not the bike; I am quick to take the blame. Aside from taking a MSF riding course (which I have every intention of doing), can anyone direct me somewhere where I can see the proper ways of doing things? This bike is much larger than what I am used to and I don't like how much struggling it is taking me to maintain balance at low speeds.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old Jun 19th, 2009, 9:20 pm
Addict-oholic

Which bike are you talking about? I assume it is one of the 1200/1300K bike series. Riding a big bike after riding smaller ones DOES take some time getting the hang of it.
I would start off on a very level spot in a driveway or parking lot. I would make sure that my feet are flat on the ground balancing the bike. Make sure that your body is comfortable and at least enough of your weight is on the handlebars to be able to put pressure forward on one side or the other.