Another Trailering Thread - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old Aug 21st, 2009, 4:03 pm Thread Starter

Another Trailering Thread

Let me try and narrow down my situation down before we stray too far off-topic.

* I already have a two-rail Kendon trailer, so I don't need a new trailer, wheel-docking system or similar.

* I have lots of experience trailering bikes (racing, trackdays, etc.) so I'm very familiar with the process in general.

* I know it's more fun to ride the bike, but sometimes it is more convenient to take the bike and other (big) stuff to a location before riding. This is one of those combination trips.

* I have done a board search, and have found some good information, but I wanted some more specifics and any "updates" anybody might have.

Ok, all that said, I've never had a bike with a hassock front end, and heated grips before. In reading the other threads, the two schools of thought seem to be "Canyon Dancers (or similar) are fine with the grips" and "put some tie-downs of one form or another on the front end somewhere".

What has the experience been lately? I have used the canyon dancers for a while now, and they work fine... BUT... Even forgetting the heated grip issue, I'm not sure the construction of the upper handlebars is really designed for that sort of pressure. Not an expert, I could be convinced otherwise.

So... I was thinking of using some part of the "front end". Where is the best place (try to be as detailed as you can), and right equipment to do this without scratching or otherwise damaging the bike?

Is there an official BMW recommended method?

I'm sure I can figure out one thing or another, but taking advantage of others experiences can avoid nasty surprises...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old Aug 21st, 2009, 10:03 pm
Addict