Was looking at a S but now GT - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old Sep 3rd, 2009, 2:59 pm Thread Starter

Was looking at a S but now GT

I had my next motorcycle purchased. I was getting a K1300S until I called the insurance company. They blew me away (literally)

Here are the quotes I got from my insurance agent which I have Progressive Insurance

K1300S $2,058 yr
K1300GT $ 741 yr
Kawasaki C14 $ 722 yr

They said the S rates were so much higher b/c they were classified as a "super bike" & the GT & C14 were classified as a touring bike. I just threw the C14 in there to see if they just hated on BMWs.

Does this higher rate on a S sound right?

2nd...I know there are gonna be routine maintenance repairs & if you have the dealer do them, then you're gonna expect some higher cost of maintenance.

With that said, I've been a mechanic for 16 yrs now & have more tools than I can add up or want to begin to start.

My next bike looks like it will be the K12300GT. I'm planning on doing my own routine maintenance & will purchase a service manual with the bike. Could someone answer me a couple questions about maintenance on a GT?

* How difficult are the valves to adjust & what intervals do they need adjusting? Are there any special tools required?

* Are there any electronic adjustments or calibrations that can only be done at the dealership & what are the intervals?

* Does the fairings or other items have to be removed when changing the engine oil & filter? Is changing the oil & filter a pain?

* Does anyone here do their own maintenance & have any advice or info that they're willing to share?

thanks for looking & the help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old Sep 3rd, 2009, 5:16 pm
Addict

OK, I'll start off...my answers interspersed with your questions...

* How difficult are the valves to adjust & what intervals do they need adjusting? Are there any special tools required?