Considering K1300GT - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 15th, 2009, 10:42 am Thread Starter
Noob

Considering K1300GT

I've been eyeing the K1200GT for two years and now it's the K1300GT. My only hesitation on the K1200 was dealer network and later the final drive failures and other malfunctions. Now on he K1300GT it's the stalling and still drive issues. I really want one of these but I'm also leaning towards the 2010 Kawi Concours 14, way less dollars and most of the enhancements that the K1300 has without the reliability problem. I currently have the Honda ST1300 and it's bulletproof. Never left me stranded in over 70,000 miles. I guess I just want a change. Can one of you owners talk to be about your experiences with the K1300GT in terms of reliability and maintenance? I live in DE and Desimmone BMW in Marlton NJ is closing this Nov. The closest dealer is now Bob's BMW in Maryland. Maintenance servicing is an issue for me because I have to travel over 2 hrs to get there and it can only be on the weekend. For the taller riders out there, how does it work for you over the long ride, I'm 6'6" with a 36" inseam.
Thanks much!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 15th, 2009, 4:25 pm
Enthusiast

Garage
you should really demo the Concours.

Kawi's heat control is not very good at all, it would be a great spring and summer bike, but if you ride any 90F days it will cook you with engine heat.

My son was going to replace his Busa, as his girl friend really didn't like the riding position on the Busa. We were able to demo the Concours 14 on a July day, he rode my K12 and the Concours and he now has a K12, he said the heat was bad off the Busa, but the Concours was a roaster.

'07 K1200GT Crystal Gray Metalic
'00 Ducati 900 Monster
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 15th, 2009, 4:55 pm
IBR# 366