Oil Check ----Thanks Everyone! - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 8th, 2010, 9:52 am Thread Starter
Rookie

Oil Check ----Thanks Everyone!

Hi All

I just wanted to say what a helpful forum this is.

A few days ago I posted about my Oil Check light on the BC for my 07 gt. Indeed as some had suggested, once the bike is at operating temp and at a stand still, it takes at least 30 seconds for the check mark to appear, replacing the ---, but it does show up. I guess the reason I asked the question in the first place is because it seemed to me that in the past when I cycled the BC at a stop light the check mark appeared almost instantly when I landed on the Oil level indicator, but I can't be sure how long I had been idling. I only have about 600 miles on the bike in the past couple of months so I am still learning about it.

I have also checked the archives and found a very helpful set of photos on DIY oil changes, which I plan to do.

I am still a bit confused on a few oil related questions. 1) With 4000 miles on my bike, should I wait longer to switch over to synthetic or would now be OK? I know the correct synthetic weight is 5w-40, but what is the forum's consensus synthetic brand to use. BMW house brand (Syntrol), Castrol, Mobil or what? I have read a few posts that suggested the transmission "clunking" on shifts will improve with synthetic. I do have a lot of "clunking" of the gears when I shift. I am also still trying to find the sweet spot in shifting. Most of my shifts at this point result in engine braking as I let out the clutch. I am trying to learn where to keep the throttle to have a smooth shift without engine braking or "speed shifting". This process gets harder as the shifts happen at higher rpms.

2) When I do finally change the oil, is it absolutely necessary to drain the tank under the drivers seat? Wouldn't this drain down when the oil plug is removed?