BMW K1300GT vs Yamaha FJR 1300 - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old Mar 5th, 2011, 8:51 pm Thread Starter
Noob

BMW K1300GT vs Yamaha FJR 1300

2010 BMW K1300GT vs. 2009 Yamaha FJR1300A
I’m a medical professional in the Army. I’m 42, 5’10” and a casual rider; meaning I mostly ride in good weather. I “cruise” around and do not try to drag knees or anything like that. I’ve been riding consistently for the past four years. Like most, I compared the FJR, ST1300 and the K1300GT. I eliminated the ST1300 early because it seemed “dated” and it was very heavy. I bought my FJR, new, in Aug 09. I kept it stock. I love the bike but recently traded it in for a new, 2010, BMW K1300GT. I’m not sure why. Probably curiosity of what the premium bike might be like. I rode the FJR from Ft. Campbell, KY to Chattanooga, TN. And rode the K back to Ft. Campbell (~200 mi each way). I’ve only had the BMW for a few days but here are my observations so far.
The seating position on the FJR is superior. The seat is wider and more comfortable. And the foot pegs seem lower and slightly more forward. The seating position on the K felt more “sporty” which hurts my knees.I plan on getting a peg lowering kit for the K.
The FJR seemed to cruise at about 3k RPM. The K cruises at 4-4.5K RPM. No factor; just of note.
My MPG on the FJR was 44.5. On the K it was 42. This may improve once it gets broke-in.
The FJR felt more “sure-footed” when riding compared to the K. On the freeway, the K feels “squirrely”, like a bicycle that was running down hill and out of control. Or, like riding a bike with a very strong side wind. This is probably only my perception and may feel more natural after I get used to the K. Other than that I thought the ride felt about the same.
The FJR engine is silky smooth and was easy for DIY maintenance. You’ll need an engineering degree to change the oil on the K.