Hesitation & Stalling on 2007 K1200GT - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old Jun 30th, 2012, 9:25 pm Thread Starter
Noob

Question Hesitation & Stalling on 2007 K1200GT

Hi. I am a newbie to BMW and motorcycling; I purchased used 2007 K1200GT from dealer in MN in Jan. 2012, with 22,600 miles. At 23,400, I just had 24,000 mile service and new tires installed, in prep for July 4-8 ride. After 40 mile ride home from dealership, I had to take it back to service due to leaky rear transaxle seals (didn't leak before). With work travel, I couldn't take it back to dealer until 2 weeks later, and finally today I picked it up after new transaxle seals were installed. However, as I drove it home today, about 40 miles in 90F temps (warm), it seems to have slight missing at highway speeds, but more troubling is that it died unexpectedly as I approached stop sign, and is hesitating as I start out from stops. I need to give it more throttle and work the clutch some to keep it running at about 60% of my starts, but not every time. It didn't do this before and at cooler temperatures I have ridden in so far. I read some of the forums on "stalls" but so far I haven't seen anything about hesitation / sputtering when starting out from a stop. Does anybody have any ideas or solutions? After spending $2,000 for tires and "routine service" and 2 trips to dealership in the past 4-weeks I am running short on time to fix this new bug and running short on experience with this bike. I need some experienced K1200GT folks to help me decide if this is something that will likely get worse and cause a real failure on my 1300 mile trip, or that it is not likely to be a "show stopper"? My buddies will be unhappy if my BMW wrecks our trip. Also, I have a F650GS (single cylinder) that I could ride instead, if K1200 is likely to get worse. I doubt the dealer will get time by Wednesday to help me with K1200, and after reading some posts, I a