I know windshields again.... - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old Sep 21st, 2012, 7:27 am Thread Starter
Noob

I know windshields again....

I know another tread about windshields, is a never ending discussion, but I am new to the 13 Gts so I want to hear about you GT riders.
Do you guys have experience with the Calsci windshields on the 13 GT?
If you do, can you please tell how is your experience related to the tall BMW windshield?.
I used Aeroflow on all my GSs and worked very well, I know they are the best but price is almost $400 for one of those.
I was looking at the Calsci ($185) shields and they make sense with the technical explanation they provide on their website.
I will appreciate your comments/experiences with any aftermarket windshield you had/have on your Gts.

Thank you all,

Ride safe

Damian

Last edited by damianst; Sep 21st, 2012 at 6:52 pm.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old Sep 21st, 2012, 8:24 am
IBR# 366

I spent a lot of cash "trying out" other screens. I tried pretty much every screen option on my GT. CalSci, Vstream, several different Cee Bailey sizes, etc.

I'd have been happier and spent much less if I'd just have gone with Aeroflow in the first place. It just flat works. Nothing but clean, quiet air, such that I can actually run it much lower than the other options and still be comfortable. Well over 100K miles later, I still feel that way.

The AeroGards add to the cost, but they offer two main improvements. Without them, the skinny GT fairing allowed a lot of wind and bugs all up my arms. With them, no more bug-arms. And with them, I can keep my mesh gloves on down to about 50į before I'm looking at swapping them out.

After you put a couple thousand miles on this setup, you'll have forgotten how much it costs . . .