Tires - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 15th, 2013, 3:24 pm Thread Starter
Noob

Tires/Clutch

Hello everyone. I am new to K forum although I have been riding K bikes for about 10 yrs. I trusted my dealer to give me the truth regarding my bikes so never did research on my own - more familiar with wood than machines. But alas, he has moved on leaving me with a new group to deal with, so I start to educate myself.

2 Issues - the clutch - My 07 K12GT is in for chain warranty fix (53,000 km) and I have asked them to once again answer my perennial question regarding the clutch squeal, slip and clunks.Seems like it needs to be replaced (my expense) and forum members recommend the K1300 parts instead. Is that still the general view?

Tires. I have been running Metzelers on all my bikes but they don't last long, especially 2 up with load (Wife loves to ride and shop). I am debating between Michelin PR3 and Dunlop RoadSmart 2. Any LD/IB riders with something to suggest?

Last edited by Bullpen; Jan 15th, 2013 at 3:36 pm. Reason: Title change
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 15th, 2013, 5:13 pm
Rookie

Tires For 2 Up

I have the K1300GT and ride with my wife. We have covered some 26 000 miles over the last year and a half. I switched to PR3 and never regretted the choice. Great in the rain, good mileage 8 000 plus miles and all around superb handling over the metzlers. Be sure to have a mix of riding. If you do too much straight riding a ridge will occur. Just mix in the curves to your trips.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old Jan 15th, 2013, 8:00 pm
Rookie