Newbie here....fueling question with aftermarket exhaust - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old Jun 18th, 2013, 2:19 pm Thread Starter
Rookie

Newbie here....fueling question with aftermarket exhaust

I'm sure this has been gone over here before, but my quickie search turned up a ton of other conversations besides what I was looking for.

All I am after is the answer to this question:

When installing an aftermarket exhaust (either slip-on or full exhaust), does the ECU need to be reflashed with a different tune (dependent upon which exhaust option you choose of course) for fueling purposes?

The reason I ask is that I just rode my new purchase home on Friday last week from Austin, TX and it seems to have a bit of a stumble when I get on the throttle, almost like a rich fuel condition. I have no proof it's running rich other than the end of the Remus can is a bit discolored from the carbon.

Many thanks in advance for any input or slashings because I've asked the same question that tons of other have asked in the past.

2007 K1200GT
Dark Graphite Metallic
Bought it with 2,055 miles on the clock - June 2013
Rode 1,100+ miles to get it home
Current miles: 10,350+
Xenon, Remus Hexacone slip-on
BMW small top box (that now likes to fly away on it's own) with pad for the lady

Other Toys
1987 Buick Grand National
2007 Trailblazer SS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old Jun 18th, 2013, 8:44 pm
Addict