2007 K1200GT - totally lifeless - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Feb 18th, 2017, 11:03 am Thread Starter
Noob

2007 K1200GT - totally lifeless

Hoping someone can help...here are the symptoms and please note I am a complete novice when it comes to mechanics - it also wouldn't surprise me if there's some noddy problem I've overlooked...
Bought the bike last year and the time from turning the key to the start of the ignition sequence became longer and also erratic in the length of time it took to kick in.
Bike then failed to start at all on one occasion so charged it up off the bike and it started OK.
Bought a BMW trickle charger and generally started ok but still had the issue with the erratic length of time for the ignition sequence to start up.

Bike then again failed to start and no ignition sequence at all.
Bought a brand new replacement battery and bike still totally lifeless.
Turn the key and absolutely nothing happens.

Love the bike it's a fantastic piece of kit - just wish I could get it to start.

Thanks in advance for any help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Feb 18th, 2017, 7:17 pm
Enthusiast

Garage
How many miles on the bike? Could be a bad ground.

2009 K1300 GT
1984 Kawasaki ZX750-E1 Turbo
1990 Kawasaki ZX600R
2005 R1200 RT - gone
2008 Honda CBR1000 RR - gone
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old Feb 19th, 2017, 3:51 am Thread Starter
Noob

Quote:
Originally Posted by TF1200RT View Post
How many miles on the bike? Could be a bad ground.
About 15000
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old Feb 19th, 2017, 6:36 am
Addict