Is the RT a better choice for me? - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old Sep 13th, 2006, 9:44 am Thread Starter

Is the RT a better choice for me?

Sorry guys.....newbie here. I searched this forum for RT vs. GT comparsons, expecting to see dozens, and found none. I'm sure this subject has been beaten to death though.

I am coming off of an MV Agusta Brutale and am looking for a great highway machine now. LOVE the Brutale but it's no good for more than 200 mile days for obvious reasons. Before that I had a Honda ST 1300. I sold it due to lower leg cooking issues but also because I was never completely comfortable with the riding position......a bit too forward, even with 1 1/2 inch risers.

So now it's between the GT and the RT. Of course I crave the power of the GT but am concerned with the more forward leaning riding position compared to the RT. I have read posts from other forums where several people who bought the GT without so much as a test ride reluctantly had to sell it back within just a month or so due to neck, shoulder, wrist and/or lower back pains. They swithched to the RT and all ills were cured.

I understand that Helio bars are now available which raise the bars another inch. People apparently love this addition. The downside is you lose the ability to quickly lower the bars for short, sporty rides. Other people, I see, are lowering the foot pegs already. My concern is that if I have to start dicking with bike geometries right out of the shoot then maybe the bike just isn't a good fit for me. The RT appears to place my 5'10" 185 pound frame in a perfect riding position. At least on the showroom floor. Were I to sit this upright for 600 miles in a single day, would this cause lower back problems (which I'm prone to) and would a slightly more forward lean be the better position in the real world?