Chasing our Software Tails - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old Oct 27th, 2006, 11:10 am Thread Starter
Addict

Chasing our Software Tails

Just had a thought (picture a small appliance bulb). We have all read to ad nauseam the problems with engine idle, stalling, bucking and abrupt acceleration. Most seem to be convinced that it's related to the ignition/fuel injection mapping (i.e., the computer software). As an old mechanic, I'm not convinced. I'm starting to believe that the actual problem is something else entirely such as an oxygen sensor or bad and/or intermittent ground or other electrical connection. It could even be some type of electromagnetic interference causing system fluctuations. All of which are going to be difficult if not impossible to duplicate by the service technician. However I'm confident that there is a BMW tech rep out there that will trip over the cause and solution. My suggestion to those having issues is to keep your cool, try to be patient BUT don't relent. Work with your BMW Service Department until your bike is fixed. There is one more thing to consider, by taking the high road and working with the BMW Service Department without losing control, you are creating a permanent record of the problem. This could become important down the road. This is a $21,000 state-of-the-art machine and BMW can't afford not to stand behind it.

My personal plea to this forum is to stop complaining here and start firing off letters to BMW with the same enthusiasm and passion, and as I said before, don't relent until you're satisfied that your bike is working as advertised.

No response necessary. I'll close the refrigerator door now.

John
06 CGM KGT
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old Oct 27th, 2006, 11:30 am
Addict-oholic

Great post !

Larry
Deep Blue 2009 K1300GT
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old Oct 27th, 2006, 2:55 pm
Veteran