Optional Side Covers; Errata - K-Bikes.com - Excellence in Motion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Jan 17th, 2007, 6:48 pm Thread Starter

Optional Side Covers; Errata

Hello! My name is Kurt. I'm new to this outstanding forum, and I would first like to express my appreciation for how much I've learned just by quietly "lurking" and reading here over the past several months.

Last fall, I custom-ordered a 2007 K1200GT (Crystal Gray Metallic) through Ohio Motorcycle in Hilliard, OH., and this Friday I will be meeting with their sales manager to carefully review (and perhaps make any last-minute changes to) my order before it is finalized and then submitted to BMW for production in the very near future. While my dealer has been very helpful in answering almost all of my questions, there are a couple that remain murky, and so far I've not been able to find solid answers to these questions through this site's search engine. Therefore, I would like to pose the following questions and requests to you all...

1) I've so far been unable to locate any online, detailed, close-up photos which clearly illustrate the appearances of the optional side covers, which include Granite Gray Metallic, and Dark Slate Metallic. (I've specified black seats for my bike.) While BMW's web site lists these side covers as available options, there are no corresponding photos! Thus, if anyone has detailed photos of these optional side covers on a CGM GT, I would greatly appreciate your posting them here! Also, for those who have opted for one of these optional side covers, have you found them to be any more prone to developing scratches or blemishes compared to what you might expect from the standard side covers?